Work It Wednesday…On Thursday

I missed posting yesterday because I played a computer game with my daughter instead. I feel the time was well spent.

So my goals for last week were:

1. Workout 20 minutes a day.

2. Take breaks from my computer every hour.

3. Keep to a budget of $50.

How’d I do? Eh.

1. Exercise has been hit and miss, but it used to be nonexistent. It may not be perfection, but it’s progress.

2. I’m not finding it as annoying to walk away from my computer as I thought I would. I move around for five minutes, get my heart rate up, then go right back to wasting my life.

3.I was not good at sticking to my budget. I used my card while mentally tracking my spending. Turns out I’m a big, fat liar. This week I’m pulling $50 cash out my account, leaving no wiggle room. When it’s gone, I’m done.

I’m going to stick with it. I didn’t do as well as I told myself I would, yet I did something which is a huge improvement over doing nothing. I’m not going to allow my innate perfectionism to ruin my progress. 

For this week I want to work on building the habit of drinking a smoothie everyday. Sounds easy, but it’s not because these smoothies suck. Basically I take random fruits and veggies, toss them in the blender, and drink whatever comes out. Last night I made one with 1.5 limes, half an apple, half a pear, and 1 whole large beet. It was like drinking a cup of dirt. Look at all the fruit and veggie servings I got though. It took me two minutes to make it and a minute to drink it. It’s especially worth it since I’m not going to cook and eat things like beets (gross!). I just have to remember to do it every day.

My depression is still pretty thick. I thought I was doing a fairly good job of functioning until I complained to a friend that I didn’t want to go to therapy today. She got a concerned look on her face and told me that I’ve been feeling bad this week and I need to go. So much for concealing my symptoms.

Your thoughts?

